The Proposal

After an 8 1/2 year courtship, Dave finally asked me to marry him! I was well ready and said “yes” without hesitation. We were vacationing in Hilton Head Island, SC, one of the best places in the Lowcountry in my book, when the moment I had been waiting for finally took place. Dave purchased a few scratch-off lottery tickets our first night there. Then we got busy and I completely forgot about them, which is unusual because I have a love for scratch-off lottery tickets. Several days later and thinking that no proposal was going to happen once again (remember I was waiting patiently everyday of our 8 1/2 year courtship so I was always hoping in the back of my mind), that all changed on July 18, 2011. That afternoon we were sitting outside on the deck and Dave went inside and got the tickets. Sitting there scratching he kept asking me if I was feeling lucky. He said any one of these tickets could change our lives forever. Sure enough the last ticket said “Get 3 diamonds and win,” which I gave him the ticket to do and he gave it back to me and told me to go ahead and do it. I scratched and at first it wasn’t scratching off very easy. I had clue this was the moment. Dave even went inside and got a different coin. He took the ticket and tried scratching (all the while he was sweating bullets that it wasn’t going to work) and got it going and told me to finish it and I saw 3 diamonds and the words “Will You Marry Me?” I still had no idea, at this point and my brother-in-law comes out to join us (not knowing what was taking place) and he takes the ticket from me and realizes then what was going on. He immediately leaves and Dave stands up with the ring and got down on his knee, I knew then it was finally happening!! The moment I felt like I waited an eternity for finally happened!! That ticket was a winner!!!

Leave a comment