Saying “Yes!” to my Dress

Before our engagement I must admit that I visited David’s Bridal’s website a few times. I knew David’s Bridal would be the place to purchase my wedding dress because my sister purchased her wedding dress there and they have a vast selection of dresses. At that time, we had to travel to the Pittsburgh area, but since then we got a David’s Bridal in Altoona. Plus, I must say I love the name David! I am the type of girl who can look at something and know right away if its for me. I usually don’t go shopping for items or clothes, but rather I get an image in my head and then I search where to buy it. So after visiting David Bridal’s website I found one dress that caught my eye. This was months before our engagement. I’m so glad I didn’t run out and buy that dress as right before Dave’s proposal I took a look again at the website and found a different dress that I fell in LOVE with and knew this was going to be my Yes! to the dress! As soon as we returned from vacation I arranged an appointment the very next week. It was the first dress I tried on and as you can guess I said Yes! to this dress. I tried on 3 other dresses just to be sure and I did consider two of these dresses, but I kept going back to the first one. It was meant to be. It was the last day I was able to order that particular dress. If I had waited another day, there was no guarantee they would be able to get the dress in my size and color. Meant to be! I definitely kept in mind my venue (outside in July) and knew that it had to have a Southern look (lots of ruffles!) for our laid-back outdoor wedding.

I had such a lovely experience with my dress shopping. It was a week night and the store was empty. I have been there on weekends and the store is swarming with people. We had the place to ourselves. My mom, sister, niece, nephew (I owed him a special present for dragging him along), future mother-in-law, future sister-in-law, and a close family friend were all there with me.

I have watched numerous episodes of Say Yes to the Dress on TLC and have seen some brides bring an entire entourage of people with too many opinions. I can say that we all truly enjoyed our dress shopping experience. Since my entire wedding party was with me, they all picked out and purchased their dresses that same evening once I was all done.

Here’s to saying Yes! to the dress.

Leave a Reply

